Friends for Life 2014- You are Never Alone

I have finally have had the chance after being home a few weeks and after traveling 1,200 miles, 3 flights, 2 bed & Breakfast, one huge hotel and 10 Days being away from Buffalo to sit and write to you what I had the opportunity to do recently. I went to Orlando for  a week, to get away from the craziness of life and to attend the Children with Diabetes 2014 International Friends for Life conference (http://childrenwithdiabetes.com/activities/Orlando2014/report.htm) at the Orlando World Marriott Center , where we would call home for the week.  Wither you looked to the North, or the South to the East and West, you saw a sea of green, orange and yellow.

It turned into a week that has been unforgettable and  has helped me to grow, learn and realize things about myself that I didn’t know before while it was also a week of renewal and rejuvenation on many fronts. Visiting with old friends and making new ones in this journey of life that we are on, and that when the going gets tough, us tough people get going.

I have learned many things and not all can be wrote in here due to time and space.  I wanted to write every day that I was at the conference, however life didn’t allow for that for there is not enough time in a day to do to.

Some of the things that have came into help was how to make the best use out of  Social Media through tips from Scott Johnson, blogs at (http://scottsdiabetes.com/) and Kerri Sparling, author of   Balancing Diabetes and  of Six until Me (http://sixuntilme.com/wp/).  Also, I was inspired by the awesome, Marissa Hitchcock-Town that just because you are a diabetic doesn’t mean that you can’t have kids, it just requires a ton of more determination. That if we “Dream it we can do it”.

As I sat  on this large 737 aircraft, writing this blog, I can’t help but to look at the reminder that is on my wrist, the green bracelet of belonging that ties all of us diabetics that come together for the week, a week that forever changes all of our lives.

That even though things may be hard at times, we are not alone. We may not be of the same creed, culture, religious backgrounds or have grown up in the same traditional family setting, but we are a family.

10445508_866891113179_5434778521396636618_n

My Scottish Family

Diabetes knows no boundaries. It doesn’t care if your Black, white, Hispanic or Latino. Wither we speak, Italian, English, Spanish, Scottish, or French. Nor if your rich or poor. Diabetes knows no boundaries. There for we are not Alone.

This past week our country celebrated its independence from Britain, well this conference has taught me tips on how I can be more independent of others then what I am. There are many things that FFL has taught me, but the biggest thing is that we are not alone that it is ok to ask for help.However, I wouldn’t be able to have learned a lot of this stuff if it wasn’t for the wonderful people people who help to support the mission of Diabetes Scholars.

10427325_866897315749_3931481003594132959_nThey are helping to change one life at a time by bringing folks and families to the conference.  I wouldn’t have had the opportunity to meet the wonderful people that I did.  So, an extra special thanks goes out to them

 

About Cathie:)

I live in Buffalo, New York. We are located about 15 minutes away from the Peace Bridge. Some day I am hoping to become an advocate for the disabled but until that happens I am just doing little things. I graduated in 2010 from Erie Community College with my degree in Paralegal Studies, and in my spare time like to knit, take pictures, and minster the word of God through music at the church I go to, St. Joseph University Parish located in the University neighborhood of one of the college communities. I recently met some folks that has inspired me to become a blogger as a formation of my treatment for my depression and diabetes. I have had Type 1 diabetes since I was 12 and depression since I was 16. This blog was created to help you- my fellow cyber friend as a primary way to help you feel that you are not alone. Please remember that none of what I write is recommend for use in your own treatment as I am not a medical professional, nor do I ever want to be one. It is just what works for me and what my outlook on certain perspectives are. The professionals I work with tell me by blogging, I am putting another tool in the assistance toolbox for the coping skills of life. Thank you for coming and visiting my blog's. I can be reached by email (cathiekw88@gmail.com) if you have any thoughts or suggestions that you would like to share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

